SOAP.Retrieve can't retrieve lookup value?

Jan 28, 2015 at 2:30 PM
Edited Jan 28, 2015 at 2:31 PM
I'm relatively new to Dynamics CRM and I'm slowly learning how to do things. Honestly, if this library didn't exist I wouldn't even try to use SOAP or REST to get data from a related record. But since it does (thank you!) there's something I'm trying to do that isn't working when I think it should. What I want to do is, on a Case form, display both the related contact's information and also the contact's related account's information. I've created a contact quickview form and an account quickview form that displays the information I want, however it's currently impossible to nest the account quickview form inside the contact quickview form. So instead what I'm trying to do is add some javascript that copies the contact's account field to an account field that's on the case form and have the account quickview form link to this field.

In the org I'm trying to setup I'm using two custom fields on the case form that are a lookup to a contact record ("new_contact") and a lookup to an account record ("new_account"). With the contact forms I've created a custom field that's a lookup to an account record ("new_companyname"). What the javascript code below is supposed to do is, whenever the case's contact lookup field is changed it uses SOAP.Retreive to look up the contact's account lookup field and copy it's value to the case's account lookup field, however the code isn't working correctly.
function CopyContactsAccount()
{
    var contact = Xrm.Page.getAttribute("new_contact").getValue();
    if (contact==null)
    {
        Xrm.Page.getAttribute("new_account").setValue(null);
    }
    else
    {
        var retrievedcontact = XrmServiceToolkit.Soap.Retrieve("contact", contact[0].id, ["new_companyname"]);
        Xrm.Page.getAttribute("new_account").setValue(retrievedcontact.attributes['new_companyname'].value);
    }
    Xrm.Page.getAttribute("new_account").fireOnChange();